Author Topic: I have been writing my state Senator for 3 years regarding legalization.  (Read 632 times)

Galaxy Admin

• Administrator
  • TGL Ethnobotanist
Now he is the Senate Majority Leader and this is what he had to say:

Dear Mr.xxx:

Knowing of your interest in ending the federal prohibition of marijuana, I wanted to share with you a transcript of a recent conversation I had with former NBA player and cannabis entrepreneur, Al Harrington.

I believe the purpose of our drug laws should be to protect our children and our communities from violence and addiction, not to needlessly make criminals out of our fellow Americans. Our laws should be based on common sense. In the 115th and 116th Congresses I introduced bills to decriminalize marijuana. This Congress will be no different.

As Majority Leader, I will continue to push for legislation that addresses the systemic and racial inequities that have plagued our drug laws and criminal justice system for decades. I hope that in the coming months we can continue to move this conversation forward. Please keep in touch with your thoughts and opinions.

Transcript: CES Instagram Live with Al Harrington

Harrington: Hey everybody! How are you doing? Y'all know I don't go live often, but I have a guest and he's about to come on right now. Hey, Senator!

Schumer: Al, how are you doing, my man? You doing okay?

Harrington: Oh, man, I'm good, man. I'm out in Detroit trying to keep warm.

Schumer: Oh yeah. Where are you right now?

Harrington: I'm actually in Detroit right now.

Schumer: Gotcha. Well, you're close to Indiana, I guess, right? Where you played ball?

Harrington: I'm used to the cold weather. I'm from New Jersey, too, so-

Schumer: Where in Jersey are you from?

Harrington: I grew up in Orange, New Jersey.

Schumer: Got it. I know where it is. So, I was a basketball player in high school.

Harrington: Yeah, right.